Run Time Error Abort

If reporting a bug with the Zeus editor please post the details here. Please do not post questions here.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:09 pm

This bug should be fixed in the latest script patch found here: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1247

The patch was tested using the test macro shown earlier and the Macros, Repeated Playback menu option with the macro repeated some 10,000 times ;)

Cheers Jussi

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:05 am

This bug fix is also included in the latest Zeus 3.96j patch found here: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1251

Cheers Jussi

msek
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:30 am

Postby msek » Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:12 pm

There is still something wrong.
I've installed 3.96j patch but Zeus crushes still heppen from time to time.
Unfortunately, there I can't observe any regular behavior.

The last crush occured when I simply switched between windows, comming back to Zeus from another program - Zeus window disapeared :( like it was closed.
I'am pretty sure I didn't use that time macros (also F7 - I have JavaScript as a default), so it must come from other raesons.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:21 am

There may well be another bug in Zeus but I am sure this bug with the Lua macro scripting engine is definitely fixed.

I personally have not seen a crash since this patch but recently I have not been running Zeus for long periods of time (ie weeks) without a restart.

Over the next few weeks I will make sure I keep Zeus running to see if I can replicate this error.

The Lua error was caused by a large memory leak so this other bug might also be some sort of memory leak :?

Cheers Jussi

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:33 pm

I have done some more investigation into this issue.

What I did was create the following JavaScript macro:

Code: Select all

function key_macro()
{
    zeus.screen_update_disable
    zeus.FileNew
    zeus.FileClose
    zeus.screen_update_enable
    zeus.screen_update
}

key_macro()   // run the macro

and this identical Lua macro:

Code: Select all

function key_macro()
    screen_update_disable()
    FileNew()
    FileClose()
    screen_update_enable()
    screen_update()
end

key_macro() -- run the macro

I then ran both macros several thousand times using the macro repeat option and watched the Zeus memory usage in the task manager.

Based on these observations it appears that the Lua script exhibits a slow memory leak (which might actually be leak in Zeus) but the JavaScript macro has quite a sever leak (most probably due to a COM object not being release) :?

I am pretty sure the Zeus abort is caused by a failed request for memory, so based on the above observations, I would suggest switching back to using the Lua scripting engine as the default engine, until this JavaScript leak is identified and fixed ;)

Cheers Jussi

msek
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:30 am

Postby msek » Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:25 am

Another observation.
This time I'm absolutely sure I didn't use any scripts. I'm trying not to use them at all to exlude one of the possible reasons of Zeus abort.

The unexpected abort happened this time after about 3 hours work of Zeus (3-4 files opened) when I pressed a Replace button on the Replace window (F6).
The flags were set to: case sensitive, regular expr and repeat find.

Marcin

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:20 pm

I have had Zeus running and been using Zeus constantly for over a day now and unfortunately I have not been able to reproduce this bug :(

But what I would suggest is trying a full re-install using the full Zeus installer which can be found here:

http://www.zeusedit.com/z300/ze32v396j.zip

To maintain your current configuration details make a full backup copy of your current Zeus install directory before running the install and then use this process to copy over the current settings:

http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=207

Cheers Jussi

msek
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:30 am

Postby msek » Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:25 am

The bug symptom after few weeks of stable work.

After the F8 key I've got the Zeus Script Exception window (Zeus has detected an internal scripting error most probably caused by a syntax error in your scripting macro code which is not being handled correctly by the current module...).
It didn't help to rerecord the sequence with F7 - F8 still pop up the warning.

My version is now 3.96j (fully reinstalled with Zeus installer as you suggested).

PS. I'm sending this also to bugs@zeusedit.com with the ZeusErr.log attached.

Marcin.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:21 am

I think this bug should be fixed in the latest Zeus patch.

I would strongly suggest all users upgrade to the latest version using the patch found here:

http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1274

Cheers Jussi

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:39 pm

I think this bug should be fixed in the latest Zeus patch.

While this patch did seem to reduce the occurrence of the abort, unfortunately even with this patch applied the bug still remains :(

The good news is the current round of beta testing for the next patch seems to indicate the bug may have been fixed once and for all :D

Expect to see a new patch released some time in the next few weeks.

Cheers Jussi

msek
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:30 am

Postby msek » Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:16 am

Yes, I noticed the bug still remains, so that's realy good news.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:33 pm

This abort bug has hopefully been fixed by the latest Zeus patch :)

As this is a serious bug in that it can result in the loss of data, it is highly recommended all users install this patch :!:

The latest patch can be found here: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1298

Cheers Jussi

pwdiener
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:45 pm

More Runtime error aborts

Postby pwdiener » Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:15 pm

Jussi,

If 3.96m is the latest release, then the run-time abort problem is not fixed. I've gotten the MSVC++ Runtime Library error message about a Runtime Error several times over that last week or so as I've ramped up my usage of Zeus after a longish hiatus.

The message references zeus.exe, and says "This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information." When I click the OK button, Zeus shuts down.

The most recent occurence happened when I was simply inserting text after using the cursor keys to reposition - very vanilla. Other occurences have been when using Find/Replace w/ regular expressions, using marked text operations, and other normal functions. No apparent macro involvement.

Any info on additional data you'd like to have? I'd really like to get this resolved.

BTW, I'm assuming the "important lua scripting" patch is included in 3.96m - is that correct?

Bill

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:35 pm

Hi Bill,
If 3.96m is the latest release, then the run-time abort problem is not fixed.

Unfortunately I have also noticed this :(

Any info on additional data you'd like to have? I'd really like to get this resolved.

I am reverting back to the Microsoft memory manager as I think this issue relates to a replacement memory manager that has been in use in Zeus for a few releases now. The replacement memory manager was being used because it is faster, but I am pretty sure it is causing these aborts :?

The next patch will once again use the Microsoft memory manager.

BTW, I'm assuming the "important lua scripting" patch is included in 3.96m - is that correct?

It should. If you find it doesn't then let me know.

Cheers Jussi

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby jussij » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:33 pm

The latest Zeus patch will hopefully fix this bug once and for all. Since this is a fairly critical bug, it is suggested all Zeus users upgrade to this latest version.

The patch can be found here: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=3234

Cheers Jussi


Return to “Reporting a Bug”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest